Diary of my switch to ubuntu 8.10…


Remember last year post :

https://pierrekoerber.wordpress.com/2008/03/10/diary-of-my-switch-to-kubuntu/

After giving up because facing some wireless troubles, I did it again… The fact is that after one year of moderate use, my old laptop was completely unusable. WinXp was so slow, I read a lot of articles of how to boost an XP system but, what a big job and you know I haven’t so much time. I’m using an old Dell Inspirion 9200, with hh 60 gigas and 700 of RAM.

I burned the 8.10 version on a CD and went on to the installation.

The installation process went perfectly. After that I should connected my laptop to internet with the internal network car. After that ubuntu proposed me to upgrade the installation. After a reboot (like in the windows world) the system has auto-detected my internal wireless card and proposed to me the right native driver. (what a luck). I was beginning to try to install the NDIS Wrapper… but how lucky to bypass this challenge.

After installing the must-have application, I have a brand new laptop… the feeling is that the hardware is responding like a brand new PC. The interface is pretty good, and it’s really a pleasure to work with ubuntu. If like me you have an old laptop, you should try to make it young again with ubuntu.

My test is superficial, for the moment I haven’t done serious use of open-office product and so on… but we will see.

Greetings !

About pierrekoerber
Hey, pour faire connaissance, laisse-moi un message... drop me a line.

Leave a Reply

