My iPad and me !


Already one month that I’ve got my iPad… and I don’t know how I have lived before it. I’m a

computer professional and I’m not afraid of a computer. So when Steve announced the iPad I felt a
little bit frustrated because I was wondering what will be the use of this big iPhone.

This tool is very cool and I want it to surf the web.

The cons

1. Don’t use it for writing

I’m a french speaker. So when you want to do special french characters it will takes you hour to
write something. It ‘s adapted to write short text and commands. It’s a little bit hard to
navigate in a big text in an edition mode.

2. You need a computer

Without a computer, you could do fast nothing. At the first start up iPad claims to be connected. One
big part of the iPad miracle is all the pre-processing done on your computer.
I tried to do some RDP… it not very conftable. You need a computer to upgrade the system

3. Wellcome in the Apple world

You are in the club… but hard to go out the fence. Everything is locked down by default. You
can unlock it but it’s your responsability.

4. Apple store… give me you money.

The apple store is a cash machine… for apple. You’re sollicited to pay for everything on the
iPad and sometimes it’s not for the goods. Apple has succedded in the micro-payment strategy.
Nothing is very

5. Keep it synch

The synch process it a little bit slow (I’m working under windows)

The pros…

1. It’s amazing to surf with your finger

It’s a pretty cool experience to go and conquer the web with your finger. The zoom is so easy and
it’s too cool to click anywhere.

2. Just open it and your surfing

Before that when you need to go on the we if you’re not on your computer it takes you time to do
it. Now just click, the iPad is ready and go… no wait !

3. Application on one click !

The same for the application. No wait… everything is fast… it

4. And it goes on, goes on…

The battery is very cool and it is serious… you can “work” for 10 hours. I understand why there
is no USB and Webcam and other battery consumer… the iPad is optimized and you can feel it !

5. The perfect tool for non-geek…

My little boy and my wife are what we can call technically, non-geek person… and you know what,
they feel confortable with the iPad. This is the perfect demonstration.

6. And too cool the appStore…

Here it’s like when going to the … you can find everything but nothing. A lot of stuff but

Conclusion… I think that Apple has done a kind of miracle. When I’m facing my computer screen
which is very big… I often wonder to do it with my fingers… The iPad has open a new area in
the computer world. Now the computer won’t be personnal again.

About pierrekoerber
Hey, pour faire connaissance, laisse-moi un message... drop me a line.

Leave a Reply

